How to compare caffeine on yerba mate labels

Separate caffeine-source ingredients from a stated caffeine total, with dated manufacturer-page examples and a worksheet for exact package comparisons.

Two unbranded beverage packages with blank labels beside an iced yerba mate glass and an empty paper worksheet
Illustrative generated scene with blank packaging; it does not reproduce any manufacturer label or tested Yerba Melt serving.

Some yerba mate packages state a caffeine amount. Some say only that the drink contains caffeine. Others list yerba mate as an ingredient without printing a milligram figure.

Those labels provide different amounts of information. They do not describe “high,” “low,” and “zero.” An unstated number is unknown, not zero—and it should stay blank in a comparison.

This guide begins with a dated source audit, then gives you a blank worksheet for doing the same with two packages. It is designed around exact products and exact evidence layers, not a category average or a number borrowed from another drink.

The FDA caffeine-label guidance is still a plan

FDA's June 29, 2026 guidance agenda names Labeling Caffeine Content in Foods and Beverages; Draft Guidance for Industry as a topic the agency is considering. The FDA's current guidance-under-development page still places that title in its list of possible drafts or final guidance documents expected by the end of December 2026.

That status matters. As checked on September 8, the title is an agenda item under development—not an issued draft, a final guidance, or a new disclosure requirement. FDA also says it is not bound to issue every document on the list. Until an actual document is published, the agenda should be recorded as a dated watch item rather than used to fill gaps on a package label.

Date checkedFDA sourceStatus supported by that sourceWhat it does not establish
September 8, 20262026 Human Foods Program guidance agendaCaffeine-label guidance is a topic FDA is considering for 2026.That a draft or final document has been issued.
September 8, 2026Foods Program Guidance Under DevelopmentThe caffeine-label title remains on the under-development list.A publication date, final policy, or legally enforceable requirement.

A dated audit of two current manufacturer pages

The table below records what each linked manufacturer page supported when checked on September 8, 2026. A product page and a frequently asked questions page are separate evidence layers. Neither replaces a retained image of the exact current package label.

Exact productEvidence layer checkedContainer or serving basis exposed thereCaffeine wording exposed thereWhat remains unresolved
Yerba Madre Revel BerryCurrent manufacturer product page15.5 fl ozThe page describes the product as caffeinated; no milligram amount was exposed in the accessible page text checkedThe exact current package label, serving basis, and numerical caffeine amount remain unresolved.
CLEAN Cause drinksCurrent manufacturer FAQ; not an exact flavor package labelThe statement applies to the entire can; can volume was not established by this FAQ entry160 mg of naturally occurring caffeine for the entire canThe FAQ does not establish the exact flavor, can volume, Nutrition Facts serving basis, or current package wording.

This is a source audit, not a controlled comparison of caffeine from yerba mate alone. It does not establish that the two products have aligned serving sizes, that the FAQ statement matches every flavor and package, or that either observation applies to a homemade preparation or future Yerba Melt cube.

An earlier worksheet transcription also included Yachak Blackberry. That historical row was not reverified on September 8 and is not presented as current evidence. It should remain a dated retained observation until an exact package label, accessible current manufacturer page, or direct manufacturer response can be matched to the same flavor and package.

The useful result is not a winner. It is a record of which source layer supported each field and which fields still need package-level evidence.

Read caffeine-source ingredients separately from the total

A drink can list more than one caffeine-bearing ingredient. Record the ingredients and the stated total in separate fields.

On September 8, 2026, the CLEAN Cause Lemonade & Tea product page listed brewed yerba mate and `organic green tea extract (caffeine)`. Its description stated 160 mg while attributing caffeine to yerba mate. These are separate observations from the same page; they do not explain each ingredient's contribution.

Source fieldObservationLimit
Exact flavor page, ingredient listBrewed mate and green tea extract marked caffeineNo milligrams by ingredient
Exact flavor page, product description160 mg statedExact current package and serving basis still need verification
Current package labelNot verified hereWebsite wording is not a label transcription

Our reading is limited to the page: the ingredient list cannot partition its stated total. Do not add 160 mg for each ingredient, assign the full amount to mate, or infer that the recipe recently changed. This also establishes no caffeine value for homemade cubes.

When recording your own package, keep one field for all caffeine-bearing ingredients and another for the total and its stated portion.

First, separate presence from amount

FDA consumer guidance says that caffeine added to a packaged food as a stand-alone ingredient must appear in the ingredient list. When caffeine occurs naturally within an ingredient, the caffeine-containing ingredient may be listed instead. FDA also notes that many packaged foods and beverages voluntarily state how much caffeine they contain.

That creates three common label situations:

What you findWhat you can recordWhat you cannot conclude
`Caffeine` in the ingredient listCaffeine was added as a stand-alone ingredient.The milligrams, unless the package states them elsewhere.
`Yerba mate` in the ingredient listThe product contains a naturally caffeinated plant ingredient.A product-specific caffeine amount.
A stated caffeine amountThe printed number, unit, and the portion it describes.The amount in a different serving or the whole container without doing the label math.
No numerical amount`Not stated on label` and the date checked.Zero caffeine or an estimated amount.

Presence wording and quantity wording answer different questions. Copy both exactly enough that you can tell which one the package actually provides.

Keep a dated change log when pages or packages change

A product page, frequently asked questions page, and package label can be updated on different schedules. If two records for what appears to be the same product do not match, record both observations and leave the discrepancy unresolved until the exact package can be checked. Do not silently choose the newer-looking number, average the two values, or transfer either one to another flavor or container.

The FDA says Nutrition Facts information is usually based on one serving, while some containers also display information for the entire package. That is why a useful change log keeps the amount attached to its serving or package basis instead of recording a bare number.

Use one row per source observation. A blank field means the source did not establish that fact; it does not mean zero or not applicable.

Date checkedExact product and flavorSource typePackage sizeServing sizeServings per containerCaffeine wording and amountPer-serving or per-package basisCaffeine-bearing ingredientsSource URL or retained label referenceFollow-up needed
Package label, product page, FAQ, or manufacturer response
Package label, product page, FAQ, or manufacturer response

Before calling a discrepancy resolved, match the flavor, package size, serving size, servings per container, wording, and ingredient list to a retained label image or the physical package. If that evidence is unavailable, the honest result is `unresolved as of` the date checked.

The two-package worksheet

Use the package, its official product page, or a direct manufacturer response. Record the date because labels and formulas can change.

FieldProduct AProduct B
Exact product name and flavor
Package type
Net container size
Serving size
Servings per container
Yerba mate listed as an ingredient?
All caffeine-bearing ingredients, including extracts
Stand-alone caffeine listed? Copy the exact wording
Exact caffeine wording
Numerical caffeine amount stated?
Amount and unit, if stated
Amount applies per serving, per container, or another basis?
Preparation or dilution directions
Source checked
Date checked

If the amount is not stated, write `not stated on label`. Do not fill the cell with a typical tea range, a search-result snippet, the number from another flavor, or a guess based on taste.

Match every number to its denominator

FDA serving-size guidance explains that Nutrition Facts information is usually based on one serving, while a package may contain more than one serving. Some packages also show information for the whole container. Serving size reflects customary consumption; it is not a recommendation for every person. For a useful comparison, record both serving sizes before comparing values.

Before comparing two printed caffeine amounts, make sure each number has all four parts:

1. the amount

2. the unit

3. the labeled serving size

4. the number of servings in the container

For example, a per-serving statement and a per-container statement are not aligned just because both use milligrams. The current audit above shows the smaller version of that problem: a package-size field and a `per can` caffeine statement are not automatically one aligned comparison record. Copy the original basis first. Only calculate a whole-container total when the package provides enough information and the multiplication is unambiguous.

Comparison checkProduct AProduct B
Caffeine amount as printed
Portion described by that amount
Finished drink volume, if stated
Amount you actually plan to drink
Are the two portions aligned?

If the portions are not aligned, pause the ranking. The worksheet is still useful: it has shown exactly why the two numbers do not yet make a fair comparison.

Four gaps that should remain gaps

Do not estimate a missing caffeine value from:

  • where yerba mate appears in the ingredient list
  • the percentage of mate, unless a tested product value is also provided
  • color, bitterness, leaf amount, or drink strength
  • package size, cube count, or another product in the same category

Those details can describe the product or preparation. They cannot replace a product-specific caffeine measurement.

The same rule applies to homemade mate cubes. Brew method, leaf, water, cube size, and dilution all belong in the preparation record, but they do not create a tested milligram value. Until a finished formula is measured, a Yerba Melt per-cube number is unavailable.

When a label does not state the amount

An incomplete comparison does not need a forced winner. You can still compare what is visible:

  • serving and container clarity
  • ingredient wording
  • preparation directions
  • whether a numerical caffeine amount is stated
  • whether that amount has a clear portion

If a product-specific number matters to you, FDA guidance suggests contacting the manufacturer. Record the response, the exact product, and the date rather than transferring the answer to a different flavor or package.

For a broader walkthrough of label fields, read how to read a yerba mate label. To compare packaged drinks without mixing serving sizes, use the yerba mate vs energy drinks label guide. And if you are wondering how a frozen format changes the serving question, start with what is frozen yerba mate?.

The useful future Yerba Melt label will tie a tested caffeine amount to a defined cube count and prepared serving. Until then, leaving the number blank is more informative than borrowing one that does not belong to the product.

Sources